Notices

need advice on replacing some suspension parts

Old 10-30-2002, 06:03 PM
AwwsChwA

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default need advice on replacing some suspension parts

Ok, I have a 91 CRX with 273,000 miles on it. I autocross it, and it's my daily driver. My question is this:

I'm planning to rework the suspension with bushings, balljoints, sway bar, that kinda thing. But...What about the UPPER front ball joints? I know they're non-removable, but how does one tell if they're going bad? I'm just thinking that, especially since the car's taking the abuse of racing as well as just being driven, would it be a good idea to replace the upper control arm/balljoint assemblies as well as the lower ball joints? thanks guys
Old 10-30-2002, 07:13 PM
POONTANG
back like scoliosis

couldn't hurt

honestly though, i have no experience with this
Old 10-31-2002, 04:29 AM
jc836

With th mileage you have I will make the following suggestions based on the idea that this is both a track and daily driver:
1. Replace ONLY the rear traling arm bushings with polyurethane along with the lower control arm bushings. Also replace with poly ALL of the sway bar bushings front and rear including front end links. If buying an aftermarket rear bar-get poly with it. You should seriously consider replacing the rear upper arms and other rubber links with new ones from Honda (~$50 each).
2. Front suspension-replace anything that is rubber with new rubber pieces from Honda. DO NOT use poly except for the radius rod bushings or you will over stiffen the front of the car.
3. You do not need to replace any of the shock mounting rubber pieces with poly either-just install new rubber ones.
4. The front ball joints can be checked by you or a tech. The test is very simple-you grab the wheel on the top and bottom while it is off the ground and see if there is any in-out movement. I trust this to the techs myself.