Notices

problems with my 89 civic

Old 03-02-2005, 06:35 PM
kleski

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default problems with my 89 civic

First off let me say that my 89 has over 210k on it. My problems are these. 1) white smoke at high rpm, 2) burning oil, 3) after short trips the car won't restart immediatly ( acts like fuel filter is clogged) but has no problem after a long trip, and 4) check engine light comes on after vehicle gets to operating temp. The first two I am assuming are related but the other two have me baffled.
Old 03-02-2005, 06:46 PM
jlicrx

what code are you getting with the Check Engine Light?
Old 03-03-2005, 12:46 PM
kleski

coding 1
Old 03-06-2005, 11:19 PM
89civicSiR
thats right im a NOOB!

code one is oxygen content. hopefully someone can clearify what that means you need to check but i think it has something to do with the oxygen sensor. not sure though
Old 03-07-2005, 11:28 AM
Exempt
2 tone Rex

First 2 sound like head gasket... 3 could be the main relay... And 4 is probably your O2 sensor is going bad...
Old 03-07-2005, 12:18 PM
ChrisS

Doesn't white smoke at high RPMs mean oil is getting into the cylinders and being burned?
(it can only come from two places valve stem seals/valve guides or piston rings; there's only one place that oil underpressure goes through the head gasket and I don't think there's any way for it to get to the cylinders before mixing with coolant)

Are the plugs fouled?
Old 03-07-2005, 06:00 PM
kleski

Default new twist