Notices

it didnt start so i started to.....

Old 02-18-2005, 06:42 AM
89civicSiR
thats right im a NOOB!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default it didnt start so i started to.....

last night my 89 civic sir hb wouldnt start. i tested the battery and i just replaced my alternated not too long ago. at first all it would do was just click rapidly when i tried to start it and now when i turn the key the lights on the dash take about 20 seconds to start lighting up. the battery still has 13v in it when the car is running and when its off. i can push start it and it will run but if i turn on my brights the cd player turns off and back on. there could possibly be a short in the cable going to the battery in the trunk but i highly doubt it because i made sure to seal the connections. i keep wanting to think its the starter but i have never delt with a bad starter so i dont know what to look for. if you have any ideas i would appreciate it. also is there any way to test a starter?

Last edited by 89civicSiR; 02-18-2005 at 06:57 AM. Reason: ???
Old 02-18-2005, 08:03 AM
Exempt
2 tone Rex

Dosnt sound like a starter problem... Sounds like a short somewhere, battery, or alternater issue... But since the alt is new, and u checked the batt, that only leaves a short... Or maybe, u did say the battery is in the trunk right? I take it u relocated it? Did u use the proper gauge and kind of wire? If theres not enough power being supplied to the rest of the car, this can happen... Sounds more like this is whats going on by what you are saying...
Old 02-18-2005, 08:12 AM
89civicSiR
thats right im a NOOB!

Originally Posted by Exempt