Notices

b series swap in 1st gen CRX

Old 05-18-2004, 10:16 AM
ragerized
dc4 ownerages

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default b series swap in 1st gen CRX

alright, im contemplating buying a 1st gen, and i was wondering what all goes into swapping in a b series. (either an ls or a gsr). i know id have to buy the hasport mounts, the crx is already efi, so i probably wouldnt have to worry about that much. could i just grab the ecu, wiring harness, engine, and bolt right in? or do i need an axle and shift linkage too?
Old 05-18-2004, 10:42 AM
More&Faster

Originally Posted by ragerized
alright, im contemplating buying a 1st gen, and i was wondering what all goes into swapping in a b series. (either an ls or a gsr). i know id have to buy the hasport mounts, the crx is already efi, so i probably wouldnt have to worry about that much. could i just grab the ecu, wiring harness, engine, and bolt right in? or do i need an axle and shift linkage too?
im no expert here, but once you have the hasport mounts itll be just like a 4th gen swap. you need ecu, wiring, axles, hubs, shift linkage...whatever. plus make sure you get a cable tranny. ive never done the swap though so im not sure on all this.

okay now that ive answered the question, let me just give you my opinion on this swap real quick. you're going to spend atleast twice as much on this as you would on a zc and its going to end up like 100 pounds heavier which, in the light 1g chassis means that your steering will be noticeably heavier, the car will plow more, and you'll need bigger front torsion bars. and for what? an extra 30 horsepower? a zc will be almost as fast, and with the money you save, you can make it even faster. thats my justification for going zc with my 1g crx. im on a super low budget and my main priority is autocross though, so if you have different priorities then maybe a b-series swap is the best.
Old 05-18-2004, 11:32 AM
ragerized
dc4 ownerages