Notices

Auto X

Old 04-20-2004, 07:43 AM
Pete
Civilian

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Auto X

Has anyone ever been in an auto cross event? I hear about them and read about them all the time and they sound so appealing. I want to enter one sometime, but I think I should just go to a few first to get the gist of it. Anyone have any experience?
Old 04-20-2004, 10:24 AM
schwanginpt
Nadene will Return

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

im finally going to start going to some this summer. i have done some research on it, and most events are on sundays. i wanna go to 1 or 2 as well before i start.

thats about all i know for auto x. besides you will need a helmet
Old 04-20-2004, 02:05 PM
AwwsChwA

I've been autocrossing for almost 2 years; here's what I've learned:

1) it's a BLAST

2) NEVER judge a racer by the size of his engine. I've beat corvettes by 10 seconds, and I've also had my ass handed to me by 1st-gen HF CRX's. My car is a stock 91 CRX Si.

3) you won't learn anything by just watching, except maybe who is who, and what people will tell you about their experiences. The only way to get into it is to..well, get into it. Show up, pay for your runs, and get out there.

You'll really learn a lot abotu your car when you start autocrossing. I highly recommend driving with an instructor the first few track days. Don't let them drive, but have them ride with you and give pointers. It helps a lot. Don't get discouraged if you don't do well right away. It takes lots of practice and constant repetition. I'm still a terrible driver because I can't race consistently while I"m in college. Just get out there and enjoy it.

Oh, and you do not need yoru own helmet. The SCCA provides loaner helmets. You will not be allowed to race if your battery is not secured (sounds silly, but lots of people don't use tie-downs), or if you have loose stuff inside the car. The tech inspectors will walk you through all of that. Just show up ready to learn, and have fun with it.