Notices

Intake installation + Aftermarket intake + resonator?

Old 07-13-2003, 07:43 PM
Kev

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Intake installation + Aftermarket intake + resonator?

Hey I'm pretty new to this car modding stuff, so I just wanna get some clarification on how to install a CAI in my 02 Accord L4. I'm planning to get a generic eBay cold air intake. Now, do I have to take the front bumper out to fully install the intake and also remove the resonator? If so, are there any other ways, perhaps easier, to install the intake? To save time, maybe link me with a tutorial with some pictures?

Secondly, how often would I have to change the filter on the new intake? What's the average amount of time between changing it? Is it easy to replace the filter on a CAI for my Accord? Would I have to remove the intake pipe(s), or the front bumper, etc.?

Next, I couldn't find anything about this in the search: I'm wondering if it's possible to install an aftermarket intake with the OEM resonator. I do not want a loud "ricey" sound when I get my intake. If it's not possible to use the stock resonator with a new intake, is there another way to depress the sound?

Yeah, sorry I have a lot to ask.

Thanks.
Old 07-13-2003, 08:04 PM
Mx6GT91

If its a CAI, im sure your going to have to remove the resonator at the bottom of the filter box. im not sure if you have to remove the bumper. Im sure you can remove the black plastic covers under the car and take it out that way.(keep in mind ive never installed a CAI on that car, but there all pretty much the same) Might have a few bolts, i just rip the resonators out. Most of the bolts are rusted anyway, your cars pretty new so that shouldnt be a problem for you.