Notices

Exhaust Questions...

Old 07-29-2002, 10:17 AM
TheRapture

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Exhaust Questions...

You'll all have to forgive me, but i'm just learning all about the exhaust systems, so i have a couple more questions for you... I have a '97 GS-R Integra

1. Is it true that the Cat cuts down about 80% of the "loudness" of the exhast, and the other 20% is the muffler?

2. I do NOT have emmisions laws where i live... so if i put a test pipe on, in place of the Cat, would the exhaust be almost as loud as a straight pipe?

3. And along with a test pipe... what muffler sounds the loudest with the lowest tone?
Old 07-29-2002, 10:44 AM
speedyg

hope this helps!

1) yeah that's about right. It might be 70% Cat and 30% muffler.

2) It'll probably be louder with just the straight pipe in. Why don't you try taking out the muffler but leave the Cat in or switch them, to see which one sounds louder.

3)Well you should try a universal muffler with a wide tip, like an SPP or HKS. The bigger the opening, the deeper the sound.
Old 07-29-2002, 10:51 AM
jgrotkier
AIM SN: Johann14420

If you don't care about emissions and you obviously want loud, why don't you just get a straight pipe the whole way back.
Old 07-29-2002, 11:30 AM
95acurals
How do I change this?

I put a hi-flow cat on my 95 ls and I really couldn't tell much of a difference in sound. I did seem to lose a little power though. I guess I lost a little backpressure or something. Be careful if you are just going to go straight pipe all the way back because my might end up losing power. But since the gs-r has more horsepower you might be ok. and if you want loud get the apexi n1. that is loud.
Old 07-29-2002, 02:25 PM
Paul
Eater of Rice

Originally posted by 95acurals